MTCS is based on ISO 27001/02 Information Security Management System standards. The certification was prepared by the Multi-Tiered Cloud Security Working Group of the Cloud Computing Standards Coordinating Task Force. It was overseen by the Information Technology Standards Committee (ITSC).



Why do you need to adopt Multi-Tier Cloud Security?

The Multi-Tier Cloud Security (MTCS) is the pioneering security standard globally that entails cloud security at several layers. The MTCS standard encourages adoption of cloud computing through the spectrum of various industries by providing detailed security service levels of Cloud Service Providers. Level 1 being the base and Level 3 being the most stringent, it is designed for companies with regulatory compliance requirements that addresses security risks to high impact IT systems using cloud services.


With the controls already in place, there might be few Industry specific regulations applied to supplement and address security risks and threats in high impact information systems using cloud services.


MTCS has a self-disclosure requirement, which means that providers are obliged to report on data retention, data sovereignty, data portability, liability, availability, business continuity, disaster recovery and incident management.



Is Tata Communications MTCS certified?

Tata Communications has achieved the Level 3 MTCS certification, ensuring the highest possible level of security for enterprises moving data to the cloud in Singapore, supporting the provision of IZO Private Cloud and VPDC cloud services using Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS) model.


Cloud Governance Information security management
Human resources
Risk management
Third party
Legal and compliance
Incident management
Data governance
Cloud Infrastructure security Audit logging and monitoring
Secure configuration
Security testing and monitoring
System acquisition and development
Cloud operations management Physical and environment security
Change management
Business continuity planning and disaster recovery
Cloud info security Cloud services administration
Cloud user access
Tenancy and customer isolation


IZO Private Cloud In-Scope services
Compute Cloud services, Virtual Services, Auto Scaling
Network VPN Gateway, Load balancer, switches, router, WAF, Firewall, NFV
Storage/Backup Block, File and ICS (Object) backup
Scheduled data backup and data restoration
Database Managed Oracle, MS-SQL, DB2 or MySQL database administration
Middleware Managed Middleware service is offered on applications including JBOSS; TOMCAT; Apache
Application maintenance
Hypervisor VMware, Hyper-V and KVM
Load balancer Static, Dynamic, Persistence : NFV-Virtual Appliance, Physical Appliance
Security SIEM, DDoS detection & mitigation, firewall monitoring & management, WAF, UTM and network based vUTM – SIGS, Managed and monitoring IDS/IPS, OAuth


Review all of our global compliance programs

Contact us

Contact us to learn how we can help you unleash collaboration, creativity, and commercial innovation.